NUC approves 47th state university in Nigeria


​The National University Commission has on Monday, March 12, approved Zamfara State University as the 47th state-owned university and 162nd in Nigeria.

The Executive Secretary of the NUC, Prof Abubakar Rasheed announced the approval during a meeting with the Governor of Zamfara, Abdulaziz Yari state in Abuja.

According to Mr. Rasheed, Zamfara State University will become the 47th state university in the country with effect from March 12.

“I write on behalf of NUC that with effect from Monday, March 12, the Zamfara State University is approved as the 47th state university and also 162 universities in Nigeria.

“Zamfara is the last state to establish a university. But the establishment is apt when you will have to key into the reform programme the NUC is having now and will be of benefit to you.

“The NUC is looking at how we can be more effective in our regulation of all universities in Nigeria.”

The NUC Secretary also said that JAMB, TETFund and NYSC had been notified of the establishment of the university.

NUC approved six private universities in December, 2017

In December 2017, the NUC approved six private universities which include two medical universities, one Naval University in Delta state.

The universities were Admiralty University in Ibusa, Delta state, owned by the Naval Holding Company, Spiritan University in Nneochi, Abia state and Precious Cornerstone University in Ibadan.

Others are PAMO University of Medical Sciences , Port Harcourt, Atibe University in Oyo town, Oyo State and Eko University of Medical and Health Sciences, Lagos.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here