The University of Lagos (UNILAG) male team at the weekend in Abuja defeated University of Ibadan to win the maiden edition of the Ahmadu Musa Kida (AMK) Foundation/Nigeria University Games (NUGA) 3X3 basketball competition.

Aside the giant trophy and other prizes, the victory also gives Unilag the ticket to represent Nigeria at the forthcoming World University Tournament.

The three times winners of NUGA basketball events, Ahmadu Bello University (ABU) Zaria had to settle for the bronze medal after defeating Nassarawa state University.

In the female category, Bayero University, Kano (BUK) subdued fellow northern team, University of Ilorin (UNILORIN) to pick the gold, while University of Ibadan put up a good fight to settle for the bronze medal, defeating their eastern counterpart, Nnamdi Azikiwe University (UNIZIK).

Speaking after the competition, Minister of Sports, Solomon Dalung, who was the Special Guest of Honour, lauded AMK Foundation as an example of what NGOs can do to promote youth empowerment through sports.

Dalung further reaffirmed government’s readiness to reform the sports sector, insisting that the only pathway to growth will be through the grassroots.

He also thanked NUGA for expanding its programs beyond the biannual sporting festival.

AMK Foundation President, Musa Ahmadu Kida in his speech expressed the Foundation’s commitment to empowering the youths through education and sports, saying the investment in NUGA basketball is a continuation of that service.

He established the foundation’s interest in partnering with NUGA in other basketball enterprises. Also speaking at the event, NUGA President, Professor Stephen Hamafyelto thanked AMK for the sponsorship, while urging other private stakeholders to borrow a leaf from the firm.

He also canvassed for adequate funding for NUGA from government to ensure the sporting sector within the university system remained vibrant.

Other side events at the occasion were a slam dunk competition, free throws and a three-point shootout.

Awards were also presented to the most valuable players and outstanding male and female players of the competition.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here